2015 D.C. Regional Scholastic Art & Writing Awards announced

Ellen Kan, Print Editor-in-Chief

On Jan. 30, Writopia Lab released the names of students who were recognized in the 2015 D.C. Metro Regional Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, which were presented by the nonprofit organization Alliance for Young Artists & Writers.

For the writing contest, middle- and high-school students submitted pieces that ranged from memoirs and flash fiction to poetry and science fiction/fantasy pieces. Over 1,000 pieces were entered into the competition, and Jefferson students earned nine Gold Keys, 12 Silver Keys and 20 Honorable Mentions.

Students also entered drawings and illustrations, film and animations, paintings and portfolios into the art competition. Jefferson artists picked up two Gold Keys, five Silver Keys and three Honorable Mentions.

In addition, senior Pooja Chandrashekar received the coveted Busboys and Poets $1,000 Senior Portfolio Scholarship for her outstanding writing portfolio, titled “The Road to Discovery.”

All students who won Gold Keys, Silver Keys and Honorable Mentions are invited to attend an awards ceremony on March 8 at the Gala Theatre in Washington, D.C. to be recognized for their work. Gold Key recipients will also have their writing and artwork forwarded to the national level of the Scholastic competition.

For the full list of Jefferson students who garnered awards, see below:

Gold Keys (Writing):

Seniors Tara Abrashami, Pooja Chandrashekar and Anna Weidman; juniors Joyce Hong and Jonathan Zheng; sophomores Suzi Bae, Richa Gupta and Ahnaf Khan; and freshman Mei Baek.

Silver Keys (Writing):

Seniors Shani Cave, Carrie Heilbrun, Katrina Junta, Ellen Kan and Shreya Nandi; juniors Megan Do, Victoria Yang and Jonathan Zheng; and sophomores Katherine Ahn, Zara Batlavi, Caitlyn Ling and Thinh Tu.

Honorable Mentions (Writing):

Seniors Tara Abrashami, Shadin Ahmed, Pranav Baderdinni, Pooja Chandrashekar, Joyce Choi, Ed Fortunato, Quintin Frerichs, Aliana Gungor, Hriday Kamshatti, Becca Merriman-Goldring, Christian Tae, Michael Woon, Justin Yum and Maddie Zug; juniors Debi Das, Jennifer Lee and Jonathan Zheng; and sophomores Katherine Ahn, Deepshika Dhansekar and Jana El-Sayed.

Gold Keys (Art):

Seniors Jeong-In Seo and Amy Nepomuceno.

Silver Keys (Art):

Seniors Susie Lee and Arielle Ampeh and juniors Connor Jones, Woorin Jang and Diane Lee.

Honorable Mentions (Art):

Senior Shilpa Kunnappillil, junior MinJoo Kang and sophomore Sydney Zheng.